top of page

Knowing the Types of Chakras and How Chakra Healing Works

Updated: Oct 5, 2022

Chakra healing is a practice that helps to keep the energy flowing through your body in balance. It is based on the belief that the body has several main chakras or energy centers. Each chakra is associated with a different area of the body and with different physical, emotional, and spiritual qualities. Keeping the chakras in balance is thought to promote physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual well-being.

Chakras are said to be the key to our physical and emotional well-being. They are vortexes of energy that are placed along the spinal cord and regulate all organ functions, the immune system, and even our emotions. Any blockage, inactivity, or over-activity in even one of the chakras can give rise to illness, pain, or mental sickness.

Chakra healing can be beneficial to our overall well-being. Knowing about these different energy centers of the body, and how they function, can be very helpful in understanding how energy works in your body, mind, emotions, and spirit.

1. The Root Chakra

The root chakra is responsible for our most basic survival instincts and is represented by a red lotus with four petals. It is located at the base of the spine and helps us feel connected to Mother Earth, giving us a sense of being grounded and safe. When this chakra is imbalanced, we may feel lonely, depressed, anxious, or obsessive.

When the root chakra is imbalanced, it can lead to a number of physical issues, such as lower back pain, sciatica, varicose veins, and problems with the rectum or reproductive organs. Balancing the root chakra can help improve the flow of energy to all other chakras.

2. The Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is responsible for our creativity, pleasure, and sexuality. It is also the chakra that is most closely associated with our emotions. When this chakra is out of balance, we may feel emotionally unstable and have difficulty healthily expressing our emotions. We may also struggle with sexual issues and have difficulty manifesting our creative ideas.

If the sacral chakra is imbalanced, it can lead to problems with pleasure and sexuality, as well as making it difficult to take risks or fulfill desires.

3. The Solar Plexus

The third Chakra, also known as the solar plexus, is represented by a yellow center that symbolizes the sun or fire. This chakra is responsible for your digestion, endocrine system, movement, and personal empowerment. When it is blocked, you may experience disappointments and frustrations, lack of motivation, and pessimism.

4. The Heart Chakra

The fourth chakra is known as the Heart Chakra. A green lotus flower represents it with 12 petals and two interlaced triangles in the middle. This chakra is located in the middle of the chest and is associated with the element of air. It balances the heart, lungs, thymus gland, arms, and hands. The Heart Chakra is associated with love, generosity, dedication, joy, empathy, compassion, trust, acceptance, and forgiveness. In Sanskrit, this chakra is known as "Anahata."

The Anahata, or heart chakra, is responsible for our ability to give and receive love. An imbalanced heart chakra can manifest as physical problems like heart disease, respiratory issues, and breast cancer, as well as emotional imbalances of guilt, grief, shame, , and loneliness.

Anahata, the Heart Chakra, is the very center of our Chakras. It is the heart and spirit of our interconnectedness, and the leader in guiding us to living our most fulfilled life.

5. The Throat Chakra

The Vishuddhi Chakra is the chakra of communication and expression. It is through this chakra that we express ourselves, both verbally and non-verbally. When this chakra is balanced, we are able to communicate our thoughts and feelings clearly and confidently. We are also able to listen to others with openness and compassion. When the Vishuddhi Chakra is imbalanced, we may experience communication difficulties, feeling like we are not being heard or understood. We may also find it difficult to express ourselves. We may feel shy, anxious, or have a hard time speaking up for ourselves.

The Throat Chakra connects our head and our Heart. It is the communication superhighway between our spirit and our mind. When it is flowing well, it becomes easier to “follow your Heart” in life.

6. The Third Eye Chakra

The third eye chakra, also known as the Ajna chakra, is located in the center of the forehead. It is our connection to the spiritual world; it helps us connect to space and time. Its color is indigo or royal blue, and is symbolized by a blue circle with two petals and an inverted triangle inscribed in the middle.

It is also connected to the pineal gland, which is responsible for regulating things like sleep and wakefulness. Some people believe that the third eye is a sort of psychic "eye" that allows them to see beyond the physical world.

It is associated with our connection to the divine; when it is balanced, we feel a sense of oneness with the universe. When out of balance, we may feel disconnected from our spirituality and suffer from headaches, dizziness, eye and sinus problems, and confusion.

7. The Crown Chakra

The crown chakra is your connection to the universe, and the universal energy dispersal point into your body's other six chakras. Through this chakra, you connect with the greater whole and receive guidance and wisdom from a higher power.

It is also the connection to universal consciousness and enlightenment. It is located at the top of your head and is symbolized by a violet lotus with a thousand petals. Connecting with this chakra gives you a deeper understanding of yourself.

When this chakra is imbalanced, we may suffer from light sensitivity, headaches, dementia, autoimmune disorders, and neurological disorders. The person's appearance can also indicate mental or emotional disorders. By aligning the person's chakras, they may be able to heal these conditions.


Chakra healing is an ancient practice that uses specific techniques to restore balance and harmony to the body's chakras, energy centers. There are several main chakras in the body, each of which corresponds to a different aspect of our being. By understanding the types of chakras and how chakra healing works, we can better identify and address any issues that may be causing an imbalance in our lives.

If you want to know more about chakra healing, then I, Lisa Sabatini, am here to help you through the process. Working with the mind, body, and spirit connection, I am here to bring a holistic energy approach to health, healing, and wellbeing. Feel free to call us today for more information about chakras and the power of natural wellbeing.

19 views0 comments


bottom of page